Stipe Society of Creative Scholars

Stipe Fellow Josh Oberlander (center) in Theater Emory's "As You Like It"

The John H. Gordon Stipe Society was founded to foster creativity and original scholarship among Emory College students. The Stipe Society is comprised of six appointed scholars each year, one from each area of the creative and performing arts.

2019-2020 Stipe Fellows 

Sam Edwards, Music
HG Gruebmeyer,
Creative Writing 
Maggie Higginbotham, Theater
Maria McNiece
, Dance
Blair Ripley, Integrated Visual Arts
Kyra Solomon, Film & Media

Stipe Fellows help promote the arts across campus, acting as student artist ambassadors. In addition, fellows are eligible to apply to the Stipe Society to receive funding for personal creative projects.

Any former Stipe Fellow still on campus after the term of their one-year fellowship is still a member of the Stipe Society. While these students no longer receive the academic scholarship, they can still apply to the Stipe Society for grants to create art projects.


Questions about the Stipe Society? Email us.